Touch Down


Good morning from idillyc litter free Matheran. I’ll be doing an extensive rant about litter once I’ve got my head back together.
Landed at Panvel round about on time, and arrived in this delightful place 3 hours later. Too buggered to do anythingn else.
Everyone who made it round (and we only had one retirement, though a sad loss to the gang) had an amazing time. The age range was from about 20 to 60 years, and with a roughly corresponding budget range.
So basically it ended up like some land based cruise tour, for about £300 all in for 15 days. Not a challenge at all. So in your faces those so called hardcore railfans who said “cant be done, not in comfort anyway”. 16 people, most of them new to India let alone indian railways, did it pretty easily. You could do it better still by starting with what we’ve worked out and improving the few bits that didnt work as good.

Many thanks to Steven in particular for helping out especially with many of the imaginative ideas. It’s a shame we never got to do Dhemaji, but then just one night in Darjeeling would have caused a mutiny I feel sure.
I lost my temper quite a few times, so nothing new there. Apologies those who got the thick end.
If my wife and family, who I now miss very much, ever let me do anything like this again, it will be back to the usual 4 blokes.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Touch Down

  1. Dave W

    Absolutely brilliant. Well done everybody but especially those who put the hard months in getting it all set up. i eagerlybanticipate the movie.

  2. Lester

    matheran isnt totally litter free, but it’s damn good by any standards apart from a few points.
    didnt get to work out the pharsi stuff shantanu but this place is generally an unspoilt jewel. I’d recommend revisiting to anyone who came in their childhood or 20 or 30 years ago anyway

    • Andrew Galvin

      Dear GCIRC guide, glad to hear Matheran’s a good soft landing pad and relatively litter free. I’m currently in Varkala which is similarly relaxing and clean, and I reckon I got there at almost exactly the same time as your party hit Matheran.
      I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed the circular train marathon and if there ever is a similarly mental trip idea for the fab four then count me in. Make sure Shakti comes too.
      You’re a top man Mark “Stretch” Lester (fuhrer), nice one.
      Love to you and yours, Andrew “Daft Hat” Galvin

  3. Ryan

    CONGRATULATIONS on a great trip mate. Is it going to be an annual event? Sign me up for the next one :)

Leave a Reply

